Spectacular images as South Africa prepares to host the 2010 World Cup

There’s less than three months until the 19th World Cup tournament kicks off in South Africa, running from June 11 through to July 11 and marking the first time the event has ever taken place on the African continent.

In the space of just one month, the country will see 64 matches between 32 football teams, at venues in Bloemfontein, Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Nelspruit, Polokwane, Port Elizabeth, Pretoria and Rustenburg. Five stadiums, including Johannesburg’s Soccer City – where they’ll celebrate the opening game as well as the final, have been remodelled – two have been demolished and rebuilt, and the other three are all brand new.