Skip to main contentSkip to footer

All-female Ocean's Eleven reboot gets summer 2018 release date, starring Sandra Bullock, Anne Hathaway and Cate Blanchett

6 October 2016
Share this:

It is set to be the biggest female-led blockbuster, but movie fans will have to wait two whole years in order to watch Ocean's Eleven's reboot, entitled Ocean's 8.

Warner Bros Pictures and Village Roadshow Pictures have announced the star-studded spinoff, which will is set to star Sandra Bullock, Anne Hathaway and Cate Blanchett, will be released in US cinemas on Friday, June 8, 2018.

According to Deadline, Rihanna, Helena Bonham Carter, Mindy Kaling, Elizabeth Banks and rapper-actress Awkwafina have also been roped in to complete the incredible all-girl squad.


ocean© Photo: PA

Ocean's Eleven's reboot, Ocean's 8, will be released in 2018

The Hollywood movie is set to be produced by Ocean’s Eleven director Steven Soderbergh, while The Hunger Games' Gary Ross will take helm as director.

Speaking about the prospect of starring in the upcoming production, British actress Helena recently teased: "It's a great script, and it's great for women. Just hilarious."

"When everyone says, 'Well, most characters in commercial films can just as easily be played by a woman', well, I can tell you it's true," she added when speaking to Entertainment Weekly. "That's what they've just done with this."

ocean 3z© Photo: PA

Helena Bonham Carter is set to be one of stars in the all-female line-up

"I'd better get on the phone," the two-time Oscar-nominated actress continued. "I have no idea if I'm in it. I better go and find out. … I've got to contact them because I’ve finally emerged from doing a big job."

2001's Ocean's Eleven was a remake of the '60s classic, Rat Pack, which starred Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis and Peter Lawford.

Sign up to HELLO Daily! for the best royal, celebrity and lifestyle coverage

By entering your details, you are agreeing to HELLO! Magazine User Data Protection Policy. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, please click here.