Skip to main contentSkip to footer

2016 Canadian Screen Awards: All the nominees

19 January 2016
Share this:

Orphan Black, Schitt's Creek and Room lead this year's nominees for the 2016 Canadian Screen Awards. The nominations, which were announced live from Toronto, highlight the best of the best in Canadian film and television, from acting to directing and writing. This year's ceremony has been touted as being a night when "stars will be born."

Unlike year's past, the academy has expanded its Best Picture category to feature 10 of Canada's best films. Room, Remember, Brooklyn, Corbo, The Demons, Felix and Meira, The Forbidden Room, My Internship in Canada, Our Loved Ones and Sleeping Giant will battle it out for the night's biggest prize.


Schitt's Creek©

Fresh off his win a the Critics' Choice Awards on Sunday (Jan. 17), Vancouver's Jacob Tremblay nabbed a Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role nomination for Room. His co-star and onscreen mom Brie Larson was also singled out for her harrowing performance.

This year's host, comedian Norm Macdonald, said he is "thrilled" to have been asked to emcee the big night and joked, "I hope i can get back across the border with the award they'd better give me." The SNL-alum follows in the footsteps of previous hosts Andrea Martin and Martin Short, who will return to the stage to accept 2016's Lifetime Achievement Award.

Trophies will be handed on March 13 live on CBC.

Best Motion Picture

BrooklynThe Demons | Les DémonsThe Forbidden RoomMy Internship in CanadaOur Loved Ones | Les êtres chersRememberSleeping GiantRoomCorboFelix and Meira

Achievement in Art Direction / Production Design

Louisa Schabas - Felix and Meira | Félix et MeiraGalen Johnson, Brigitte Henry, Chris Lavis, Maciek Szczerbowski - The Forbidden RoomKen Rempel, Kathy McCoy, Erik Gerlund - ForsakenArv Greywal, Steve Shewchuk, Larry Spittle - Hyena RoadEthan Tobman, Mary Kirkland - Room

Achievement in Cinematography

Yves Bélanger - BrooklynSara Mishara - Felix and Meira | Félix et MeiraRene Ohashi - ForsakenKarim Hussain - Hyena RoadDanny Cohen - Room

Achievement in Costume Design

Joanne Hansen - Beeba BoysJudy Jonker - CorboChristopher Hargadon - ForsakenKatelynd Johnston - Hyena RoadArabella Bushnell - Songs She Wrote About People She Knows

Achievement in Direction

Philippe Lesage - The Demons | Les DémonsMaxime Giroux - Felix and Meira | Félix et MeiraAnne Émond - Our Loved Ones | Les êtres chersLenny Abrahamson - RoomAndrew Cividino - Sleeping Giant

Adapted Screenplay

Josh Epstein, Kyle Rideout - EadweardEmma Donoghue - RoomWiebke von Carolsfeld - The Saver

Original Screenplay

André Turpin - EndorphinePhilippe Falardeau - My Internship in CanadaAnne Émond - Our Loved Ones | Les êtres chersBenjamin August - RememberMatt Hansen – Zoom

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Maxim Gaudette - Our Loved Ones | Les êtres chersChristopher Plummer – RememberRossif Sutherland - RiverJacob Tremblay - RoomJasmin Geljo - The Waiting Room

Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Waris Ahluwalia - Beeba Boys Tony Nardi - CorboIrdens Exantus - My Internship in Canada Nick Serino - Sleeping GiantPatrick Hivon - Ville-Marie

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Leah Goldstein - Diamond TonguesHadas Yaron - Felix and Meira | Félix et MeiraKarelle Tremblay - Our Loved Ones | Les êtres chersCéline Bonnier - The Passion of Augustine | La Passion d'AugustineBrie Larson - Room

Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Balinder Johal - Beeba BoysMylène Mackay - EndorphineChristine Beaulieu - The Mirage | Le MirageJoan Allen - RoomCynthia Ashperger - The Waiting Room


Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Comedic Role

Gerry Dee, Mr. DEugene Levy, Schitt’s CreekDaniel Levy, Schitt’s CreekDave Foley, Spun Out

Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role

Adrian Holmes, 19-2Jared Keeso, 19-2Ari Millen, Orphan BlackBen Bass, Rookie BlueAaron Poole, Strange Empire

Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Comedic Role

Brittany LeBorgne, Mohawk GirlsAnnie Murphy, Schitt’s CreekCatherine O’Hara, Schitt’s CreekBelinda Cornish, Tiny Plastic Men

Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role

Kristin Lehman, MotiveTatiana Maslany, Orphan BlackMegan Follows, ReignMissy Peregrym, Rookie BlueJennie Raymond, Sex & Violence

Best Dramatic Series

19-2BlackstoneMotiveSaving HopeX Company

Best Comedy Series

Mr. DMohawk GirlsSchitt’s CreekTiny Plastic MenYoung Drunk Punk

Best Reality/Competition Program or Series

The Amazing Race CanadaBig Brother CanadaDragons’ DenGame of HomesMasterChef Canada

Best TV Movie or Limited Series

The Book of NegroesFirst ResponseForget and ForgiveKept WomanStudio Black!

Sign up to HELLO Daily! for the best royal, celebrity and lifestyle coverage

By entering your details, you are agreeing to HELLO! Magazine User Data Protection Policy. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, please click here.